Company Logo

Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Awards

The Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Fund recognizes Indigenous students who are making a difference in eliminating the barriers of racism, sexism, violence, and indifference in society. The scholarship fund was established to honour her memory and provide financial support to Indigenous students. The fund is one of hundreds of scholarship funds managed by The Winnipeg Foundation.

Originally from Norway House Cree Nation, Helen Betty Osborne had a dream to one day become a teacher.

Helen attended Manitoba Brethren Collegiate Institute and was on the home placement program administered by Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada. She also spent two years at Guy Hill Residential School (1926-1979) on the shore of Clearwater Lake just outside The Pas, Manitoba.

Helen was 19 years old when she was abducted and brutally murdered in 1971. It took 16 years for anyone to be charged with her murder with only one of four attackers convicted of the crime in 1987.

The purpose of The Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Fund is to provide financial assistance to Indigenous persons residing in Manitoba who are enrolled in post-secondary studies in Manitoba.

Awards are granted in the amount of $2,000 each. The Application portal will launch on October 3, 2022. Application deadline is 4:00PM CDT October 17, 2022.

The Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Fund Award acknowledges and celebrates Helen Betty Osborne’s goal of becoming a teacher before her untimely death in 1971. The events that followed highlighted the inequity of the justice system relating to Indigenous people.

The Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Fund Awards strives to promote the memory of Helen Betty Osborne while acknowledging Indigenous students who are making a difference in eliminating the barriers of racism, sexism, violence, and indifference in our society.

Applications are reviewed by an independent adjudication panel including representation from the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation and the Indigenous Chamber of Commerce.

We thank all individuals that apply. Only those selected will be contacted by December 1st, 2022.

2022 Award Recipients

Amber BalanSierra EttawacappoPhoebi Moneyas
Kimberly BallantyneJudith GrantDavilene Monias
Sharon-Rose BearDakota HarperDeserri Murdock
Karyss-Leigh BeaulieuSage HandelApril Quill
Joseph BignellSienna Henderson-SeenieMaria Sandy
Lindsay BristowJames Hunter Campbell LearyLaRaine Seivewright
Tianna ClarkTrinity Lathlin-FlettBronson Spence
Jocelyn CookTegan LedouxKendra Stewart
Aurora CoplandChelsey MeadeKiana Tait
Irene Crosthwaite-FidlerTryniti MercierIvana Yellowback


Applications for 2022 have closed for the year. Please stay tuned for 2023.

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Stay informed  about NCTR and our upcoming events.

NCTR’s spirit name – bezhig miigwan, meaning “one feather”.

Bezhig miigwan calls upon us to see each Survivor coming to the NCTR as a single eagle feather and to show those Survivors the same respect and attention an eagle feather deserves. It also teaches we are all in this together — we are all one, connected, and it is vital to work together to achieve reconciliation.