Company Logo

Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Award Recipients

Thank you to everyone who applied to the Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Fund Award.

2023 Recipients

Mikayla BarbosaHayden GilmourErin Nimchuk
Aleyah BighettyRachel GoreDrake Perry
Olivia BishopJasmine GreeneKierra Playford
Samara BitternJuscenta HalifowskiMya Robb
Chantelle BjorkHannah KarpanAlexis Ross
Lindsay BristowNicky KeeperCheynielle Ross
Brandy BurzuikShynnia Kipling-AppleyardJulian Roulette
Ishkode CatchewayDaniel LavalleeJayda Scott
Richard ChiselSherry LukianchukKiana Tait
Halle CochraneDestiny MagulaJoshua Thompson
Krista DumasAnimikii Malcolm-WilsonAiden Tully
Rachelle FehrLeslie McKayGeordie Valentino
Amber FontaineHaley Morrisseau
Joshua Thompson Jasmine GabrielRaven Morrisseau
2023 Recipients

2022 Recipients

Amber BalanSierra EttawacappoPhoebi Moneyas
Kimberly BallantyneJudith GrantDavilene Monias
Sharon-Rose BearDakota HarperDeserri Murdock
Karyss-Leigh BeaulieuSage HandelApril Quill
Joseph BignellSienna Henderson-SeenieMaria Sandy
Lindsay BristowJames Hunter Campbell LearyLaRaine Seivewright
Tianna ClarkTrinity Lathlin-FlettBronson Spence
Jocelyn CookTegan LedouxKendra Stewart
Aurora CoplandChelsey MeadeKiana Tait
Irene Crosthwaite-FidlerTryniti MercierIvana Yellowback
2022 Recipients

2021 Recipients

176 applications were received and reviewed by a selection committee that included representatives from the Indigenous Chamber of Commerce (ICC) and the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR). The awards were available to Indigenous persons who reside in and are enrolled in post-secondary studies in Manitoba.

Thirty, $2,500 awards were disbursed from the Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Fund to Indigenous students.

Many of the selected applicants highlighted wanting to return to their home communities upon completion of their education as a way to give back. Other educational paths included health care, social work, education, law, and addressing the legacy of missing and murdered women and girls. Recipients for the award also included single parents and LGBTQ2S+ individuals.

Applicants shared their enrollment in post-secondary, a resume and essay outlining educational and career goals, community involvement and what Helen Betty Osborne’s life and legacy means to them.

Marilyn ButlerSandra HartJanelle Poirion
Brandi CableChelsey HillShayleen Ponace
Charisma CastelDarlene KeeperAshley Prince
Sarah DeLarondeJustin LanganRaven Richards
Brighton DesjarlaisBrittany LaplanteKylee Sinclair
Danielle DesjarlaisJenna McKayMallory Sinclair
Floyd DuclosMarsha MoneyasPatti Lynne Sinclair
Nicole FontaineDavilene MoniasRayel Smoke
Jayelle Friesen-EnnsVirginia NataweyousJohn St. Pierre
Dakota HarperNatalie OgryzloKiana Tait
2021 Recipients

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Stay informed  about NCTR and our upcoming events.

NCTR’s spirit name – bezhig miigwan, meaning “one feather”.

Bezhig miigwan calls upon us to see each Survivor coming to the NCTR as a single eagle feather and to show those Survivors the same respect and attention an eagle feather deserves. It also teaches we are all in this together — we are all one, connected, and it is vital to work together to achieve reconciliation.