Company Logo

Leadership Training and the National Celebration

National Celebration:

The NCTR is pleased to announce the 2022 Imagine a Canada National Celebration is happening on Friday, June 10th, 2022.

PDT 9:00AM | MDT 10:00AM | CST 10:00AM | CDT 11:00AM | EDT 12:00PM | ADT 1:00PM

Stay tuned for more information including the stream link to watch the program in English or French on YouTube. This is a free to watch event and everyone is welcome to attend the virtual celebration.

The National Celebration will include:

  • Welcome and Opening Prayer (15 min approx.)
  • Opening Remarks (20 min)
  • Keynote (30 min)
  • K-G5 speakers (30 min)
  • G6-12 speakers (45 min)
  • Closing Remarks (10 min)

Please Note: Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the NCTR has decided to host the event virtually at this time for the health and safety of participants.

Leadership Training:

Virtual leadership training events will be held for the benefit of all youth participating in both streams of the program. 

Youth from up to 12 projects selected from the K-G5 stream will be invited to attend a learning session geared towards their age group around allyship and cultural awareness.

Youth from up to 15 projects selected from G6-12 and CÉGEP stream will be invited to attend learning sessions about allyship, cultural awareness, having difficult conversations, and project management.

If the number of youth involved in a project are quite numerous, the NCTR reserves the right to determine the number of participants it is able to accommodate in leadership training and the national celebration.

2022 Leadership Training:

In April 2022, youth from both streams gathered virtually to hear from speakers about reconciliation, resilience, the residential school experience, Treaties, and about Indigenous cultures from across Canada.

Additionally, youth from the G6-12 stream gathered at an additional time to learn about Indigenous entrepreneurship, using their talents to support their projects, and about project management and how to secure additional funding for future projects.

Speakers included: Elder Carl Stone, Michele Young-Crook, Shirley Delorme-Russell (Louis Riel Institute), Andrea Gallagher – Courteau (TRCM), Lila Bruyere, Adam Nipon (IGM Financial Inc.), Alyssa Luttenberger and Jessica Alegria (Canadian Roots Exchange), and Carter Chiasson.

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign up today to stay informed and get regular updates about NCTR.

NCTR’s spirit name – bezhig miigwan, meaning “one feather”.

Bezhig miigwan calls upon us to see each Survivor coming to the NCTR as a single eagle feather and to show those Survivors the same respect and attention an eagle feather deserves. It also teaches we are all in this together — we are all one, connected, and it is vital to work together to achieve reconciliation.